Firekeeper’s Daughter Cover Reveal

The cover for Firekeeper’s Daughter has finally been revealed. I was lucky enough to be apart of the Firekeeper’s Daughter cover reveal live broadcast last night because not only did I get to see the cover, I was able to listen to the author talk about her experience with it. It was truly a wonderful experience and I consider myself lucky enough to share it.

I feel especially connected to this premise because on my grandfather’s side I am part Native American. In fact, many people I meet always tell me I look more Native American than I do Mexican. This is something I take great pride in and every day I strive to seek a closer connection to my grandfather’s roots, especially because I unfortunately never had the chance to meet him.

So when I saw that I could be a part of not only sharing this novel but also apart of the Q&A I was thrilled. In fact, you can watch a replay of it by clicking here. And now for what we’ve all been waiting for! Take a look at the stunning cover below.

firekeeper's daughter cover reveal

Synopsis

Debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. Daunis dreams of studying medicine, but when her family is struck by tragedy, she puts her future on hold to care for her fragile mother.

The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, certain details don’t add up and she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into the heart of a criminal investigation.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, but secretly pursues her own investigation, tracking down the criminals with her knowledge of chemistry and traditional medicine. But the deceptions—and deaths—keep piling up and soon the threat strikes too close to home.

Now, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go to protect her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

First 3 Chapters!

Firekeeper’s Daughter E… by Macmillan Kids on Scribd

Like What You See?

Don’t forget to follow Cyn’s Workshop on Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Spotify | YouTubeBookBub | GoodreadsLinkedIn to stay tuned for more like this.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.