My Weekly Reading List


My reading list for this upcoming week.  This week is about Insight (Insight, #1) and the critically acclaimed novel Cloud Atlas.  What am I expecting here?  Read here to find out.

Okay! Yesterday it was a bit crazy and this weekend with meetings and work, I had very little time to type and instead made time to garden in celebration of Earth day.

In any case, I only have two books on the reading list this time and they are:

Insight (Insight, #1)
Insight (Insight, #1)
  1. Insight (Insight, #1)

     

    So if you remember my last post I remarked on how I started reading this novel months before. Luckily I remembered everything that happened so that I wouldn’t have to re-read the novel, but honestly, it has been…um…torture? Obviously, I’m going to finish the book, I can’t judge a book until I finish it but it is a struggle. The writing is decent, it’s just the plot and the character dynamics that seems to be bugging me. But the concept is interesting, just read the synopsis below provided by GoodReads.

    “Before that fateful summer night, Willow had balanced the insight of emotion, and the vivid images. That night, the figure in her nightmare marked her wrist with a star, giving her father no choice but to tell Willow a family secret that would abruptly change life, as she knew it, forever. Before Willow had time to absorb the shock of her father’s secret, her soul mate that had shared every stunning dream with her, found her, and darkness captured her closest friends. In order to save them, she must weave through broken myths and the undeniable power of the Zodiac. In the end, Willow discovers that at the moment of our birth we are all given a divine gift.”

    Cloud Atlas
    Cloud Atlas
  2. Cloud Atlas

    The movie was astounding, absolutely beautiful and astounding, that I have to read the book. And finally, I have time to. Looking at the movie you already know that the novel is going to be complex. The novel is like onion as my mom described it, because it’s written in layers with the first story being the ending, if I’m remembering her words correctly.

    This is novel I am going to take my time with because it’s so complex stylistically and linguistically. Over all, after seeing the masterpiece it was on film, I’m excited. Below is the synopsis of the novel.

    “A postmodern visionary who is also a master of styles and genres, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventures, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction that reveals how disparate people connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.”

Let me know what you think :)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s