A New Sound for Star Wars

By Cynthia Ayala

Star Wars is following the trend of becoming electronic with their announcement of Star Wars Headspace, a compilation album produced by Rick Rubin, who was quoted to say “you’ve never heard star wars music like this.”

Star Wars has a history of being classical but unique. The musicians created various sounds to meet the tempo of the film, something classical and acoustic. But now it’s changing. Meet Star Wars Headspace.

Star Wars Headspace is an all new compilation album of electronics dance music that is infused with Star Wars sound clips and effects b Hollywood Records and American Recordings. The album is slated to be released on February 19, 2016 to all digital outlets and retail stores a month later.

The music is fresh and a new take on the Star Wars universe.  Pre-orders open today, and starwars.com has an exclusive first look at the striking cover below.

Star Wars Headspace
Image Credit: StarWars.com

StarWars.com can say it better than I can about the soundtrack information. Read it right here:

“The album opens with “C-3P0’s Plight” by Kaskade; the track pulsates and builds into a soundscape, iconic Star Wars samples like blaster fire and Wookiee roars enveloping the listener, while C-3P0 laments…“How typical.” It captures the humor of Star Wars, the melodrama of C-3PO, and is a kinetic, dynamic production that sets the stage for what follows.

In addition to contributions from GTA, Flying Lotus, and others, Star Wars Headspace features an original production by Rick Rubin: “NR-G7,” complete with a driving beat, R2-D2 bleeps, and much more. Also included is a remix of J.J. Abrams’ and Lin-Manuel Miranda’s fan-favorite “Jabba Flow” from Star Wars: The Force Awakens, called “Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work (feat. A-Trak).” This version transforms the song into something completely different — a true house track — and is a must-hear for Star Wars and dance music fans alike.”


Doesn’t it sound amazing! All these artists are artists I listen to on a daily basis, but it’s also interesting to note that Rick Rubin is producing an original. Take a look at the full track list for Star Wars Headspace below:


  1. C-3P0’s Plight Kaskade
  1. Help Me! GTA
  1. Force TroyBoi
  1. Cantina Boys Baauer
  1. Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work (feat. A-Trak) Shag Kava
  1. R2 Knows (feat. Barry Drift) Claude VonStroke
  1. NR-G7 Rick Rubin
  1. Ghomrassen Bonobo
  1. Bounty Hunters Röyksopp
  1. Sunset Over Manaan ATTLAS
  1. R2 Where R U? Flying Lotus
  1. Druid Caravan of Smoke Shlohmo
  1. EWOK PUMPP Rustie
  1. Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder Galantis
  1. Star Tripper Breakbot

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.